Tuesday, March 20, 2012

New members inducted into National Junior Honor Society


The induction for the East Middle School National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) was held on March 8, 2012, at Missouri Southern State University’s Billingsly Student Center Ballroom.

  The induction lasted around an hour, including a reception at the end of the ceremony.  The program started off with an opening processional and the Pledge of Allegiance.  After that, opening remarks were made by Mrs. Kathy Howerton, Mrs. Tina Guiles, and Mr. Bud Sexson, and an introduction to guest speaker Mrs. Becky Gardner, the National Honor Society (NHS) adviser, was also made.  While Mrs. Gardner was speaking, four members of the NHS helped with the lighting of the pillars: Alyssa Farney, Miriah Johnson, Joseph Loden, and Taylor Mann.

  Next, all of the NJHS candidates were required to take the Pledge of the NJHS.  After the pledge came recognition of all candidates and closing remarks.  The following reception had cake provided by Mrs. Mary Blackburn-Freeman and plenty of opportunities for pictures!  The facilities were made possible by Ms. Melanie Epperson and MSSU.  Overall, the induction was very nicely put together; it was a night to remember!

2011-2012 NJHS Candidates:
Estrella Arreola, Maggie Baker, Anna Blue, Jonah Caldwell, Aubrie England, Madeline Fichtner, Bailey Gardner, Keisha Grunden, Mackenzie Gunderson, Desiree Hawkins, Megan Hickey, Ethan Holz, Kylie Howerton, Kara Hulsey, Bonnie Johnson, Audrey Kanan, Abigael Killinger, Amy Koch, Janet Lopez, Elimo Lounis, Cara Marshall, Ashton McGehee, Madison Meinhardt, Stella Ndauwa, Jennifer Nguyen, Dakota Osborn, Abigail Randall, Jillian Rentfro, Molly Ritter, Miranda Sanders, Aiden Stahl, Austen Still, Amelia Street, Annie Strickling, Jamie Sullivan, Quionte Tidwell, James Tupper, Karly Weber, Shelby Welton, Logan Whitehead, James Willerton, and Ishman Wilson.

No comments: