Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Twenty-nine inducted into National Junior Honor Society

Twenty-nine East Middle School students were selected as charter members of the National Junior Honor Society during candelight ceremonies this evening in the auditorium.

The program began with an introduction by Assistant Principal Jarrett Cook, followed by a speech from Joplin R-8 Board of Education member Jim Kimbrough and explanations of the five pillars of NJHS, character, scholarship, citizenship, service, and leadership by sponsors Mr. Rocky Biggers and Mrs. Brandi Davis and Faculty Council members Mrs. Julie Yonkers, Ms. Cheryl Mitchell, and Mrs. Karensue Hensley.

The prospective members lit candles and then pledged to the society and received certificates from Mr. Cook.

The charter members of the East Middle School chapter of the National Junior Honor Society are Whitney Bass, Sriharshini Chitluri, Ethan Crider, Paige Earl, Jonah Ellman, Celeste Graves, Tess Harmon, Cayley Hardison, Ethan Holz, Amy Koch, Chanci McGowen, Madison Meinhardt, Miranda Murphy, Jennifer Nguyen, Christina Ochoa, Taryn Parker, Brittany Patterson, Gannon Purdy, Kymbre Resler, Valerie Royer, Kenya Schmidt, Amelia Street, Kyla Underwood, Kelli VanLoon, Blair Wallace, Alyvia Warstler, Shelby Welton, Adam White, and Logan Whitehead.

No comments: